Update #5

Lapsena - update by pupukachoo (deviant art)

Lapsena – update by pupukachoo (deviant art)

I meant to sit down and type this update so many times before.  I don’t even remember the original content that I was going to have in it.  But, let’s see if I can outline it here…

typing isn't magic by paper-pony (deviant art)

typing isn’t magic by paper-pony (deviant art)

My new job is currently kicking my ass, I guess I can talk about that a little bit.  Um, my reading has slowed down quite a bit, but again, that is due to my ass getting kicked on the reggie.  Hm…I know there was another thing, aha! I have developed a method of ranking the books that I have read for NPR’s top 100 list.  It is a ranking system of over 20 categories which I rank from 1 to 10 and then average out the scores.  I wanted to be able to recreate the top 100 list in the order that I believed it should be in, and I had to have as many categories as possible so I wouldn’t have any ties.  It seems to be working out nicely so far and I think I’ll post the scores either at the end or in intervals.

debonair day by pupukachoo (deviant art)

debonair day by pupukachoo (deviant art)

I guess I don’t have to talk about the ranking system now.  I do plan on getting back to my reading, but as for right now I’m doing good just making it home, sleeping, and heading back to work.  Man is my body sore.  I love the physicality of the job, but my body is so out of shape.  Four years ago I quit a well-paying warehouse job to go to school, and I then proceeded to do nothing but write and do homework and sit on my ass for those four years until now.  I’ve recently come to the conclusion that I’m lazy.  Very lazy, that is, when it comes to pushing myself to work out just for the sake of working out.  I grew up as an athlete, you see, so my body remembers what it was like to feel strong.  That’s why I really like the warehouse job.  It’s physical and it pays well, but damn it is it hard getting back into shape.  It’s what I needed though.  I wouldn’t have had the heart to push myself in to getting back into shape any other way.  But, now I get paid to get in shape and I have time to write, once I’m not overcome with writhing pain.

moons pain by kirisute (deviant art)

moons pain by kirisute (deviant art)

I expected my new job to be like my old one, but it’s not in so many different ways.  It’s a bigger warehouse, so there is a disconnect between the management and the regular associates which makes me uncomfortable.  It’s strange really.  I mean at my old job there were biweekly meetings to assess how we were doing and there was a before and after work meeting, and nobody left work until everything was done.  This new job is something of an every person for themselves type of vibe.  There is a pre-work meeting to tell us where to be, but then once we are done with what we are doing we leave.  No goodbye.  No pat on the back at the end of a hard day.  Just, get out of here so we don’t have to pay you.  And I guess I’m fine with that, but the thing that makes it weird is that the people in HR and management talk the same as the people at my old job.  They talk about team work and communication and working hard toward a similar goal, but where my old job walk the walk, so to say, this new job talks a big game and then just ignores it.

druid wanderer by thiago-almeida (deviant art)

druid wanderer by thiago-almeida (deviant art)

Oh, and the last thing…I’ve started writing again.  It seems I couldn’t keep up with my goal of not writing for a year.  I have Mondays all to myself and I’m going to take advantage of them.  I have a book written that needs editing.  I have another completely outlined that needs written, and I have a couple others that have some extensive writing already done on them.  The hard part is getting myself organized and figuring out what I want to write.  It feels good.

Alien of the 18th century by Mike018 (deviant art)

Alien of the 18th century by Mike018 (deviant art)

I feel happy.  Who knew I could be happy being nearly exactly where I was four years ago?  I guess it’s all about perspective.  I needed to know more about myself and now I have, and now I just need to prove to myself that I can keep accomplishing my goals.

(A note on this blogs artwork: normally I would like for the pieces used in the blog to fit thematically with what I’m writing, but I just ran into a lot of artwork that I really enjoyed.  I tried to make it fit the best I could, but really I just liked the pictures.)

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Update #5”

  1. captainamerikara says :

    i was so confused by the artwork until i go to the end haha. you should like to their deviant art pages. also i want you to post some extremely short stories on here

Leave a Reply

Where's My Husband

Player 1 has entered the game

Brick vs The List

taking down 'best of' lists one at a time (also, and most likely, random and superfluous rants)

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

