Number 91: Georgia Nicolson

"snogging" in the title lets you know it's British

“snogging” in the title lets you know it’s British

Angus, Thongs and Full-frontal Snogging is the first book in the Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series.  It is ranked number 91 on NPR top books for teens ever.  I will not be continuing the series.  It is about a 14 year old young woman named Georgia, and the awkward transition from girl to woman.  There are some funny parts and some witty jokes thrown in by the author.  I wouldn’t say the writing is very good.  The story kind of just rambles as it is an epistolary novel, which means it is a sequence of journal entries by Georgia.  I think that the main message of the story is that it is OK to feel awkward about your body and about becoming a woman, because no one really knows what they are doing.  The problem I have with this book is that it is really boring, not particularly written well, I don’t like the set up (journal entries), and the mains character is not a good person.  She is a mean to everyone, insecure about her body (which gets annoying in it’s repetition), never asks for help, holds grudges, and thinks everyone else is stupid.  Her only redeeming quality is that she is an arrogant bitch.  What? That’s not redeeming? Oh, well then I guess there is nothing redeeming.

for those that don't enjoy the green background

for those that don’t enjoy the green background

I also don’t like books that try to be funny.  It feels forced.  It is written by an above middle age female author, and she is trying to tell jokes to young girls about how make the transition into adulthood.  I guess those kids could find the things she says funny, but with every joke that is told, it felt forced, but I did see the humor that could have been in them.

for those who are more realistic

for those who are more realistic or love cats

Anyway, I’m glad I’m done with the book.  I’m not glad I read it, but it could just be another case of it not written for people like me.  But, I still stand resolute in my belief that if it is one of the best teen books ever, then it should have something that transcends the story and speaks to me, no matter how different I am from the demographic.  I don’t think this book should be on the list, and I have trouble imagining that there are enough people that love this book to make sure that it made it onto NPR’s list.  I get that most young girls are confused about the transition into adulthood (as are most boys) and I think that that is an universal worry, but the thing I have trouble with is realizing how many people that read books would read this book about this content.  Not very many people read, and I think that even less would read a book with this set up and this content with this type of arrogant character.  It’s surprising.

and now yellow for those who are bright and bubbly

and now yellow for those who are bright and bubbly

Wife: No.

this flag lets you know it's British

this flag lets you know it’s British

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Number 91: Georgia Nicolson”

  1. captainamerikara says :

    The fact that I’m picturing you saying “I think that the main message of the story is that it is OK to feel awkward about your body and about becoming a woman” is cracking me up. Oh and this just gave me a fantastic idea! you should start reviewing chic lit from a males perspective. I think it would be hysterical. Dear God, it’s me margaret, 50 shades of grey…anything that women looooove, and then you can just rip on how stupid it is.

Leave a Reply

Where's My Husband

Player 1 has entered the game

Brick vs The List

taking down 'best of' lists one at a time (also, and most likely, random and superfluous rants)

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

